Dakota Women’s Correctional and Rehabilitation Center Visiting Information:
During the orientation program, the inmate may send out visiting applications to those visitors she wishes to be placed on her list. Once the visiting applications have been received at the institution and approved by the Visiting Control Officer (usually within two weeks), she may receive visits from anyone on the approved visiting list.
No one under the age of 18 will be permitted to visit unless they are a member of the inmate's immediate family, or special permission is granted by the Security Coordinator with written parental consent. The Security Coordinator can place restrictions on those visitors granted special permission. All children must be accompanied by their own parents or the inmate's parents at all times during the visit.
Official photo identification will be required for all persons entering the facility except for those under 16 years of age who are supervised by parent or guardian. Failure to produce ID will be grounds to deny admittance.
All visitors' names are checked with the North Dakota Bureau of Criminal Investigation, North Dakota Field Services Department, and local law enforcement authorities. Anyone with pending charges will not be allowed to visit until the charge is disposed of through the court. Anyone on parole or probation will not be allowed to visit until they have been off parole or probation for a period of one year. An exception may be made for immediate family members to visit in the secured visiting area. Names may be removed or kept off visiting list by security, in order to maintain the orderly running of the institution.
Any individual entering the facilities, or their grounds, may be subject to search at any time for contraband articles. This also applies to their personal property. Contraband is any item not specifically authorized by policy. No property or other items will be allowed unless approved by security staff. Visitors are only allowed to a total of $10 each (vending machines take $1 bills or quarters. DWCRC staff will not provide change) to spend on food items in the visiting room. If an inmate is found in possession of contraband upon completion of a visit, or if a visitor declines to be searched, the visitor(s) may be banned pending investigation by the institution.
Once you arrive at the facility for a visit you will check in at the Control Center and complete the Visitor Log, turn in your vehicle keys and a photo ID. You may purchase meals and photo slips at the Control Center prior to the visit. You will be directed to the Visiting Room. The Visiting Room Officer will direct you to a seating area. Visits less than one hour will be counted as one hour.
Visitors are to be dressed in proper clothing. Proper clothing includes undergarments, shirts with sleeves, blouses, slacks, jeans, and shoes. Halter dresses, halter-tops, and shorts or skirts shorter than two inches above the knees, crop or half shirts and shirts that expose the mid-section are not permitted. The visiting room is a family experience, so there are rules governing the type and amount of physical contact allowed during the visit. Visitors are expected to familiarize themselves with these rules at the first visit, and adhere to them to avoid future problems while in the visiting room.
All visitors must complete a visiting application and be pre-approved and placed on the inmates visiting list prior to visiting. All visitors are subject to search upon entering the DWCRC. Visiting Hours:
Monday, Wednesday, Friday 6:30 pm-8:30 pm MST
Saturday, Sunday, Holidays 9:00 am-4:00 pm MST
No time limit unless space availability is limited.